Privacy policy

This privacy policy offers information concerning the processing of your personal data in connection with the use of this website and the functionalities it provides, such as the download and streaming of educational content, forums for the exchange of views and the execution of online tests.

 

The site features a link to various functionalities (hereinafter: ‘Third-Party Systems’) which are not operated by IUBH but instead by third-party companies (‘Third-Party Providers’). The way in which the Third-Party Providers use your personal data is described in the privacy information provided by the respective Third-Party Providers; alternatively, you will find the corresponding information next to the link to the third-party system.

 

Data Controller

The website is operated by IUBH Internationale Hochschule GmbH, IUBH University of Applied Sciences, Mülheimer Strasse 38 D-53604 Bad Honnef, Germany („IUBH“). IUBH is the Data Controller responsible for the processing of your personal data. IUBH has appointed Dr Annette Demmel, Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP, Unter den Linden 14, 10117 Berlin, as its Data Protection Officer.

 

Data categories

The following data categories are processed by IUBH in connection with your use of the website:

 

Log data,such as your login credentials and IP address, including details on the request sent to our website, e.g. date and time, status and volume of data transferred, information about the browser you use (browser type and version number).

If you log in to myCampus, your access to individual elements (e.g. downloads of educational content, use of links), functionalities of the website and educational content will be stored in addition to your page views, along with any changes or entries that you make. IUBH stores this data in a log file every time a page is accessed.

Cookies,to expand the range of the website’s functions and make it easier for you to use. These are small text files that are stored on your computer. Most of the cookies used by IUBH are deleted from your hard drive at the end of the browser session (session cookies). In addition to these, IUBH uses what are known as permanent cookies, which stay on your device so that we can identify you the next time you visit our website. You have the option of preventing the storage of cookies on your device by making the corresponding change to your browser settings.

If you click on the ‘Remember my username’ checkbox, a permanent cookie with your username will be placed on your computer. This will not affect your password.

 

Purpose and legal basis of processing

Your personal data will be processed for the purpose of facilitating your use of the website, to avoid and resolve website errors, and for the purpose of optimisation in respect of user behaviour. The legal basis for the processing is the study contract.

 

Recipients

Access to your personal data will be restricted exclusively to those employees of IUBH who are responsible for the technical administration, maintenance and further development of the website or to scientific staff or tutors. In addition, IUBH uses external IT service companies to maintain its IT systems which may obtain access to your personal data in the course of their activities. The same applies to the hosting provider. In addition, employees of Google and the operators of the social plug-ins may have access to your personal data as described below.

 

Transfer

Our website features various software programs from other providers. You will find more detailed information on data processing in this respect at the end of this document under ‘Third-party systems’. Data transfer to third parties will take place only where IUBH is obliged by law or by public authorities to do so or where the disclosure is necessary for technical reasons in the context of your use of the website.

How long will your personal data be stored?

Your personal data will be deleted when you have withdrawn your consent to their processing or when the personal data is no longer required to fulfil the purpose of the processing. The deletion will not take place before the expiry of the archiving period stipulated in tax or commercial regulations. The deletion of your personal data generated within the framework of Google Analytics and the social plug-ins will take place as described in the respective privacy policies of the operators.

 

Your rights

You can contact IUBH either in writing or by email at datenschutz@iubh.de in order to exercise the following rights:

 

  • To check or review information concerning your data,

  • To receive a copy of your personal data,,

  • For the rectification or erasure of data or restriction of processing, including the right to complete incomplete or incorrect data by providing supplementary information,

  • The right to withdraw consent to processing,

  • You can receive the data you have provided in a structured, conventional and machine-readable format and transfer this data to another controller where you have given your consent to processing, or where this processing is based on a contract.

  • In addition, you have the right to complain to a supervisory authority in respect of the processing of your personal data.

 

Why is your personal data collected?

IUBH requires your personal data to facilitate your use of the website. You have the option of refusing to provide your personal data or of providing IUBH with incomplete data. This may, however, make it impossible for IUBH to facilitate your use of the website, either wholly or in part.

 

Automated decision-making and profile generation

Your personal data will not used by IUBH for automated decision-making. Nor will IUBH not generate profiles from your personal data. The evaluation of your user behaviour via Google Analytics will take place after abbreviation of your IP address, thus making it impossible to associate the data with your person.

 

Google Analytics

On its website, IUBH uses Google Analytics, a web analysis service provided by Google Inc., 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, USA (‘Google’). Google Analytics uses cookies. The information generated by the cookie about your use of the website (including your IP address) will be transferred to a Google server in the USA and stored there. Google will use this information to analyse your use of the website, to compile reports for IUBH about website activities and to provide further services associated with use of the website and the Internet. Google may also transfer this information to third parties where required to do so by law or where third parties process this data on behalf of Google. You can prevent the installation of cookies by changing the corresponding setting in your browser software. IUBH would point out, however, that you may not then be able to make full use of all the functions of this website. You can withdraw your consent to the processing of your data at any time with effect for the future. You can read the details of how Google uses your personal data here:

https://www.google.com/intl/de/policies/privacy/partners/

 

Third-party systems

When you click on the link to use a third-party system, a new window with its own website will open in each case. Next to the link you will find information concerning the privacy policy of the third-party system. There you will find details including the operator of the third-party system and the personal data IUBH becomes aware of when you use the third-party system.

 

  • Zoom (live tutorial)

  • Piazza (forum for dialogue on a topic)

  • GoReact (tool to carry out a testing service)

  • Turninitin (tool to carry out a testing service)

  • Skillsoft (tool to carry out a testing service)

  • RosettaStone (tool to carry out a testing service)

  • Topsim (tool to carry out a testing service)

Datenschutzerklärung

Diese Datenschutzerklärung informiert Sie über die Verarbeitung Ihrer personenbezogenen Daten im Zusammenhang mit der Nutzung dieser Website und den hierüber zur Verfügung gestellten Funktionalitäten, wie z.B. Download und Streaming von Lerninhalten, Foren zum Meinungsaustausch, Durchführen von Online-Tests.

 

Auf der Website werden verschiedene Funktionalitäten mittels eines Links eingebunden, die nicht von IUBH, sondern dritten Unternehmen („Drittanbietern“) betrieben werden (nachfolgend „Drittsysteme“). Auf welche Weise die Drittanbieter Ihre personenbezogenen Daten nutzen, ist in den jeweiligen Datenschutzinformationen der Drittanbieter beschrieben bzw. finden Sie entsprechende Informationen neben dem Link zu dem Drittsystem.

 

Verantwortlicher

Die Website wird betrieben von IUBH Internationale Hochschule GmbH, IUBH University of Applied Sciences, Mülheimer Straße 38 D-53604 Bad Honnef („IUBH“). IUBH ist für die Verarbeitung Ihrer personenbezogenen Daten verantwortlich. IUBH hat Frau Dr. Annette Demmel, Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP, Unter den Linden 14, 10117 Berlin zur Datenschutzbeauftragte bestellt.

 

Datenkategorien

Folgende Datenkategorien verarbeitet IUBH anlässlich Ihrer Nutzung der Website:

 

Protokolldaten, wie Ihre Anmeldedaten sowie Ihre IP-Adresse einschließlich von Details zu Anforderung unserer Website, wie Datum und Uhrzeit, Status und übertragene Datenmenge, Informationen über den von Ihnen verwendeten Browser (Browsertyp und Versionsnummer).

Wenn Sie sich bei myCampus einloggt haben, werden zusätzlich Ihre Seitenaufrufe, der Aufruf einzelner Elemente (z.B. Download von Lerninhalten, Aufrufe von Links), Funktionalitäten der Website und Lerninhalte, sowie Änderungen oder Einträge, die Sie vornehmen gespeichert. IUBH speichert diese Daten bei jedem Seitenaufruf in einer Log-Datei.

Cookies, um den Funktionsumfang der Website zu erweitern und die Nutzung für Sie komfortabler zu gestalten. Hierbei handelt es sich um kleine Textdateien, die auf Ihrem Rechner abgelegt werden. Die meisten der von IUBH verwendeten Cookies werden nach Ende der Browser-Sitzung wieder von Ihrer Festplatte gelöscht (Session-Cookies). Darüber hinaus benutzt IUBH sog. dauerhafte Cookies, die auf Ihrem Endgerät verbleiben, um Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Besuch der Website wiederzuerkennen. Sie haben die Möglichkeit, das Abspeichern von Cookies auf Ihrem Endgerät zu verhindern, indem Sie die Einstellungen in Ihrem Browser entsprechend ändern.

Wenn Sie den Haken bei „Anmeldenamen merken“ klicken, wird bei Ihnen ein dauerhafter Cookie mit Ihrem Benutzernamen abgelegt. Ihr Passwort ist davon nicht betroffen.

 

Zweck und Rechtsgrundlage der Verarbeitung

Ihre personenbezogenen Daten werden zu dem Zweck verarbeitet, Ihre Nutzung der Website zu ermöglichen, zur Vermeidung und Behebung von Fehlfunktionen der Website, sowie zur Optimierung im Hinblick auf das Nutzerverhalten. Rechtsgrundlage für die Verarbeitung ist der Studienvertrag.

 

Empfänger

Zu Ihren personenbezogenen Daten haben ausschließlich Mitarbeiter der IUBH Zugriff, die für die technische oder organisatorische Administration, Instandhaltung und Weiterentwicklung der Website zuständig oder wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter oder Tutoren sind. Darüber hinaus beschäftigt IUBH zur Wartung seiner IT-Systeme externe IT-Servicefirmen, die im Rahmen ihrer Tätigkeit ggf. Zugriff auf Ihre personenbezogenen Daten erhalten können. Gleiches gilt für den Hosting Provider. Zusätzlich können Mitarbeiter von Google und den Betreibern der Social Plug-ins wie unten beschrieben auf Ihre personenbezogenen Daten zugreifen.

 

Übermittlung

Auf unserer Website haben wir verschiedene Software von anderen Anbietern eingebunden. Nähere Hinweise zur Datenverarbeitung insoweit finden Sie am Ende dieses Dokuments unter „Drittsysteme“. Eine Übermittlung an externe Dritte im Übrigen erfolgt nur, sofern IUBH gesetzlich oder behördlich dazu verpflichtet ist bzw. die Weitergabe im Rahmen Ihrer Nutzung der Website aus technischer Sicht erforderlich ist.

Wie lange werden Ihre personenbezogenen Daten gespeichert?

Ihre personenbezogenen Daten werden gelöscht, wenn Sie eine erteilte Einwilligung zur Verarbeitung widerrufen haben oder die personenbezogenen Daten zur Erfüllung des mit der Verarbeitung verfolgten Zwecks nicht mehr erforderlich ist. Die Löschung erfolgt nicht vor Ablauf von steuer- oder handelsrechtlichen Aufbewahrungsvorschriften. Die Löschung Ihrer personenbezogenen Daten, die im Rahmen von Google Analytics und den Social Plug-ins anfallen, erfolgt wie in den jeweiligen Datenschutzerklärungen der Betreiber beschrieben.

 

Ihre Rechte

Sie können IUBH entweder schriftlich oder per Email datenschutz@iubh.de kontaktieren um folgende Rechte auszuüben:

 

  • Auskunft zu Ihren Daten, um diese zu kontrollieren und zu überprüfen,

  • Erhalt einer Kopie Ihrer personenbezogenen Daten,

  • Berichtigung, Löschung oder Einschränkung der Verarbeitung, dies umfasst auch das Recht unvollständige oder falsche Daten durch ergänzende Mitteilung zu vervollständigen,

  • Widerspruchsrecht gegen die Verarbeitung,

  • Sie können Ihre bereitgestellten Daten in strukturiertem, gängigem und maschinenlesbarem Format erhalten und diese Daten einem anderen Verantwortlichen übermitteln, sofern Sie zu der Verarbeitung Ihre Einwilligung gegeben haben oder die Verarbeitung auf einem Vertrag beruht.

  • Sie haben zudem ein Beschwerderecht bei einer Aufsichtsbehörde im Zusammenhang mit der Verarbeitung Ihrer personenbezogenen Daten.

 

Warum werden Ihre personenbezogenen Daten erhoben?

IUBH benötigt Ihre personenbezogenen Daten zur Ermöglichung der Nutzung der Website. Sie haben die Möglichkeit, von der Bereitstellung Ihrer personenbezogenen Daten abzusehen oder IUBH unvollständige Informationen zu überlassen. Dies kann jedoch dazu führen, dass IUBH Ihnen die Nutzung der Website nicht oder nicht vollständig ermöglichen kann.

 

Automatisierte Entscheidungsfindung und Profilbildung

Ihre personenbezogenen Daten werden von IUBH nicht zur automatisierten Entscheidungsfindung verwendet. Ebenso wird IUBH aus Ihren personenbezogenen Daten keine Profile erstellen. Die Auswertung Ihres Nutzerverhaltens mittels Google Analytics erfolgt nach Kürzung der IP-Adresse, so dass eine Zuordnung zur Person nicht mehr möglich ist.

 

Google Analytics

IUBH nutzt auf der Website Google Analytics, einen Webanalysedienst der Google Inc., 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, USA („Google“). Google Analytics verwendet Cookies. Die durch den Cookie erzeugten Informationen über Ihre Benutzung der Website (einschließlich Ihrer IP-Adresse) werden an einen Server von Google in den USA übertragen und dort gespeichert. Google wird diese Informationen benutzen, um Ihre Nutzung der Website auszuwerten, um Reports über die Website-Aktivitäten für IUBH zusammenzustellen und um weitere mit der Website-Nutzung und der Internetnutzung verbundene Dienstleistungen zu erbringen. Auch wird Google diese Informationen gegebenenfalls an Dritte übertragen, sofern dies gesetzlich vorgeschrieben oder soweit Dritte diese Daten im Auftrag von Google verarbeiten. Sie können die Installation der Cookies durch eine entsprechende Einstellung Ihrer Browsersoftware verhindern. IUBH weist Sie jedoch darauf hin, dass Sie in diesem Fall gegebenenfalls nicht sämtliche Funktionen dieser Website vollumfänglich nutzen können. Sie können der Verarbeitung Ihrer Daten jederzeit mit Wirkung für die Zukunft widersprechen. Wie Google Ihre personenbezogenen Daten im Einzelnen verwendet, können Sie hier nachlesen:

https://www.google.com/intl/de/policies/privacy/partners/

 

Drittsysteme

Beim Anklicken des Links zur Nutzung eines Drittsystems es öffnet sich jeweils ein neues Fenster mit einer eigenen Webseite. Neben dem Link finden Sie die Informationen zum Datenschutz des Drittsystems. Dort erfahren Sie unter anderem, wer das Drittsystem betreibt und welche personenbezogenen Daten IUBH zur Kenntnis erhält, wenn Sie das Drittsystem nutzen.

 

  • Zoom (Livetutorium)

  • Piazza (Forum zu Austausch über ein Themengebiet)

  • GoReact (Tool zur Erfüllung einer Prüfungsleistung)

  • Turninitin (Tool zur Erfüllung einer Prüfungsleistung)

  • Skillsoft (Tool zur Erfüllung einer Prüfungsleistung)

  • RosettaStone (Tool zur Erfüllung einer Prüfungsleistung)

  • Topsim (Tool zur Erfüllung einer Prüfungsleistung)